Stanley's blog

There appears to be some misunderstandings over the issuing of a single visa in China to include all the Schengen area countries. This post clarifies the position.

• If a visa is granted by any Schengen area country, it is automatically valid in all 25 Schengen area countries.
• These are: all EU Member States except Bulgaria, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania and the UK.
Iceland, Norway and Switzerland.
• The visa application should be made to the embassy of the main destination. If this is not clear, then it should be made to the country of first entry.

The most significant points to note are that the visa is automatically granted, but the UK is not part of the Schengen area.

Author :